top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMeredith Kulik

Attitude is Everything

Updated: Jun 29, 2019

I’ve been a little under the weather the last couple of days. I had a bone strengthening infusion on the 27th and it kicked my butt! I went into that appointment with a bad attitude and got what I was looking for. I had been dreading the appointment because my last infusion I passed out and ended up in the hospital. I was aggravated upon arrival because they wanted to draw blood and then give me an IV for the infusion an hour later. I asked to please just get my IV in early so they could draw blood from there. Instead of being happy that they found a nurse to do that for me, I was aggravated that nurse. She just didn’t seem real confident getting my IV in. She took a couple of stabs and had to get another nurse to do it. The 2nd nurse also took 2 tries, blew a vein, but finally got it in my hand.


I had a terrible attitude and it didn’t serve me well at all. Of course, the cancer clinic is not my favorite place to be but those nurses really are amazing for what they do and see every single day. Getting poked all the time is not my favorite thing either, but I know they try to be compassionate. I feel awful for being that way now. I’m certain the nurse could sense how I was feeling and that probably made her more nervous giving me the IV. A little attitude adjustment on my end could have gone a long ways.


Anyways, I survived and am excited that I don’t go back to the doctor (hopefully) until February 7th at which time I will begin an oral chemo drug, Ibrance. Though I've heard great things about Ibrance, I have not done any research of my own. My first go-round with cancer, I researched everything. I’m much too afraid to do that this time. At least for now. Perhaps in time I’ll have a different attitude about that.




80 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page