top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMeredith Kulik

Side Effects

Going into 2019 my wishes for the New Year are a little different. Many unpleasant things come from cancer and the medicine I take for it but none were as surprising as these side effects and I would love to be rid of them this year...


1. Smells. Some I just can’t deal with. My nose is hypersensitive. I can’t tolerate my husband’s deodorant...it makes me gag. Sorry Mike.


2. I suddenly hate to be alone. I have always cherished my alone time, but now I want to cry every time Mike leaves the house. I don’t always, but sometimes I can’t help it. I feel absolutely horrible for putting that on him; I hate feeling so needy.


3. I am tired all the time; I can’t get myself ready without taking breaks. It’s a good thing I no longer work because I would have to get up at 4AM to be somewhere by 8AM!


4. Speaking of work...I really miss work! All the years of working that I wished I didn’t have to… Paychecks were nice too.


5. Strong gag reflex. Getting my pills down each morning is always the worst part of my day. I really have to dig deep to get them in.


6. Taste. I used to love spicy food...I put Cholula on everything! Not so much now. I crave really bland foods and that is another thing...I have cravings like I’m pregnant!


7. Speaking of pregnant...I can’t be. I’m in a forced menopause which has surprisingly been a breeze. I’ve heard horror stories, so thank goodness for that! I would dare say that I’ve pretty much been a peach so far. They say that a women’s menopause will mimic her mother’s so I was terrified.


The hardest of all is #2. I feel embarrassed for feeling so needy. I feel awful for making Mike feel bad to leave me. He is running the entire show around here and totally deserves to get out of the house and take care of his own mental and physical well-being. The tears just come and I can’t stop them sometimes! Maybe I’m not breezing through menopause after all?


The craziest is #6. My cravings have been smoothies and Egg McMuffins. Seriously, my husband went to McDonald’s twice yesterday. I didn’t exactly hate an Egg McMuffin before but never really ate them. I just don’t know what that’s about!


I do know I’m feeling good today and looking forward to ringing in the New Year with a couple friends. I hope everyone has a safe and Happy New Year!




52 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page